2008-04-19

Think Greek

In a random moment not occupied by other things I'm strolling through facebook and come upon this: http://www.gtthetaxi.com/greeksing.html (specifically the first video). Very well put together and performed, but I found (a perhaps unintentional?) half of the message a little concerning:

"Man, maybe these guys are right; I don't do anything nearly as fun as that. I guess I never realized up until this moment that my life is completely incomplete.
[musical interlude]
Why am I sitting around here moping for myself? I don't do anything fun on the weekends, I don't have anyone to hang out with during the week, man,
my life sucks! But you know what? I know exactly what to do. I need to inject my life with some fun. I'm going greek!"

-non-greek subject of the performance

Yes, the stereotype was funny at times, and no doubt based on some elements of truth. The concerning thing is that one has to wonder how many greeks, to one extent or another, may actually think this about non-greeks. I hope not many...

(either way it's good for a laugh, right?)